Naperville Township Democrats – Candidates 2018 Results (General Election)

Election Day
Tuesday, November 6, 2018


This is a list of results of Democratic candidates running in the Naperville Township General Election on 11/6/2018.

For the latest figures, see the DuPage County Election Results page.

Winners of Naperville Township Candidate List, 2018 election

OfficeNameWebsite / EmailCandidate comments:
U.S. Congress,

(Roskam - R)
Sean Casten
  • Biochemist and clean energy entrepreneur who spent his career fighting climate change.
  • Stand up for facts to stop Trump’s agenda to dismantle healthcare and social safety net.
  • Lives in Downers Grove with his wife, Kara, and two daughters.
U.S. Congress,

(Foster - D)
Bill Foster
  • Has represented Naperville and the surrounding areas in Congress since 2013.
  • Strong advocate for our environment who supports investment in medical research and technological advancement
  • Scientist and businessman fighting for jobs, funding to combat opioid abuse, and immigration reform.
U.S. Congress,

(Hultgren - R)
Lauren Underwood
Illinois Governor & Lt. Governor
(Rauner & Sanguinetti - R)
J.B. Pritzker & Julianna Stratton
  • Implement a progressive tax system in order to raise revenue while reducing taxes on the majority of Illinois residents.
  • Create jobs and economic prosperity for communities across our state.
  • Restore funding for social services that have been devastated by cuts.
Illinois Secretary of State
(White - D)
Jesse White
  • Keeping teen drivers safe; creating reforms that reduced teen driving deaths by over fifty percent.
  • Combating drunk driving and establishing Illinois as a top traffic safety state in the nation.
  • Expanding on-line resources and streamlining driver facilities to improve customer service and reduce wait times.
Attorney General
(Madigan [ret.] - D)
Kwame Raoul
  • Combat gun violence and take on the special interests that have made things worse.
  • Crack down on violent sexual criminals, starting with rapists and child predators.
  • Protect our voting rights from attack, and make sure everyone can vote.
Illinois Treasurer
(Frerichs - D)
Mike Frerichs
  • Committed to supporting college savings funds (529s)
  • Works hard to ensure that Illinois farmers can invest properly to plan for an uncertain yield.
  • Signed Executive Order No. 15-01 – an Employee Bill of Rights – to safeguard Treasury employees from being pressured to do political work.
Illinois Comptroller
(Mendoza - D)
Susana Mendoza
  • Comptroller Susana Mendoza has stood up to Governor Rauner’s fiscal mismanagement of the state.
  • Reduced the bill backlog by $7 billion while prioritizing social services, the elderly, and education.
  • Will be an independent fiscal watchdog for Illinois, advocating for transparency and protecting taxpayer dollars.
Illinois State Senator,
21st District
(Connelly - R)
Laura Ellman

  • A Naperville resident with 20+ years experience in engineering, statistics and industry leadership.
  • Dedicated to job growth, fiscal responsibility and a strong middle class.
  • Knows the value of strong schools and university systems for our future and our growth.
Illinois State Senator,
42nd District (Holmes - D)
Linda Holmes
  • Over 20 years as a small business owner.
  • Against raising property taxes as our area pays more in property taxes than most parts of Illinois.
  • Promote job growth and protect hard working families of Illinois.
Illinois State Representative,
41st District

(Wehrli - R)
Val Montgomery

  • Advocate fighting for Women’s Rights & the rights of Disabled Adults.
  • Be the voice of her constituents (Naperville/Warrenville) in all decision-making opportunities.
  • Finance background & knowledge that provides the tools for Illinois’ challenging budget crisis.
Illinois State Representative,
49th District

(Fortner [ret.] - R)
Karina Villa
  • School Social Worker, Volunteer School Board Member, and daughter of small
    business owners
  • Advocate for common-sense gun control reforms
  • Strong supporter of unions and collective bargaining
Illinois State Representative,
84th District

(Kifowit - D)
Stephanie Kifowit
  • Veteran of the United States Marine Corps; nine years as Alderman of the city of Aurora; and six years as State Representative
  • As Vice Chairman of a key House budget committee, Kifowit helped to lead a line-by-line review of state agency expenditures to identity sources of savings and protect taxpayer dollars.
  • "Not Even A Cup of Coffee" - has vowed to not accept even a cup of coffee from highly paid lobbyists in Springfield.
DuPage County Board Chairman
(Cronin - R)
Lynn LaPlante

  • Lower property taxes by cutting the wasteful spending of the unchecked Republican Board, without cutting social services to the least among us
  • Involve more women and Democrats in leadership positions throughout the County
  • Supports common sense reforms
    to protect our children from gun violence.
DuPage County Sheriff
(Zaruba [ret.] - R)
Gregory Whalen
  • Over 15 years of public safety (certified police officer, firefighter and paramedic), with operational, command and administrative experience.
  • Currently holds the rank of Lieutenant for an agency in northern Cook County.
  • Priorities include the development of a comprehensive, county-wide mass violence prevention/response program, addressing the opioid epidemic through education, enforcement and use of immediate in-person social services referrals.
DuPage County Clerk
(Hinds - R)
Jean Kaczmarek
  • 13-year DuPage government watchdog without pay, who knows more about DuPage County government than any outsider.
  • Personally responsible for reform at DuPage’s Election Commission: next year, elections will be returned to the County Clerk’s office.
  • Vows to end the office's culture of double-dipping pensions, patronage hiring and promotions, nepotism, campaigning for "the boss" by staff, and political contributions from county vendors.
DuPage County Treasurer
(Henry - R)
DuPage Forest Preserve President
(Cantore - R)
Daniel Hebreard
  • I believe in conservation, in public service, in improving the world around us now.
  • I will slash bloated commissioner pay & benefits and put the money into preserve improvements.
  • Let’s improve amenities, connect more trails & upgrade technologies to connect people to nature.
DuPage Regional Superintendent of Schools
(Ruscitti - R)
DuPage County Board Member -
District 5

(Khouri [ret.] & Anderson - R)
(vote for 2)
Sadia Covert
  • Fight for property tax relief.
  • Demand transparency and accountability.
  • Operate in a bipartisan and fiscally responsible manner.
Dawn DeSart
  • I am a seasoned journalist in radio, television, newspapers and
    magazines; former IPSD 204 Board Of Education Member; and a mother, community volunteer and activist
  • I plan to bring transparency and accountability to the board, and
    spend tax payer money more responsibly

DuPage County Circuit Court Judge
(Fawell vacancy - R)
Jeffrey Jacobson
  • Supports women’s rights.
  • Supports minorities’ rights.
  • Assistant Treasurer for the DuPage County Bar Association. Largest organization of County wide attorneys.
DuPage County Cir. Court Judge
(Creswell vac. - R)
Linda Davenport

  • Experienced Associate Judge with over 11 years on the bench.
  • First woman president of the DuPage County Bar Association.
  • Will promote diversity in judicial appointments.